Lis

Aug 20, 2013
Indiana
Parrots
"Larry Bird" Quaker, 12 years
"Mogul" CAG 17 years
"Duke" B&G Macaw 22 years
"Pepper" GW Macaw 6 years
I wanted to say hello and introduce myself. I am fairly new to parrots. In the last year I was asked to adopted a 12 y/o quaker parrot (Larry) and a 17 y/o African Grey Congo( Mogul). I have enjoyed them very much and things have gone quite well with them. However, these were not bird I was planning to add to my family, but begged by people to take. Everyone knows I love animals, but my bird experience has been in having chickens for the last 5 years. Lol not the same thing as parrots at all. My chickens are my pets tho and I have loved having them. Unfortunately, i lost my 3 favorites this spring and my 13 year old dog. I started thinking about getting a parrot that I would want for myself if I were to get one... And I keep coming back to the Macaw.

Knowing how long they live, I feel a little guilty getting a baby, so I though I would look for an older bird that needed to be rehomed or rescued. I have been leaning towards the green wing or second choice blue/gold. Last night, I decided after a Skype call with "Duke" that he would be a perfect fit for our family. He is a 22y/o B&G Macaw. He has been with a really loving family and seems well taken care of and seems well socialized. His current Mom just retired from teaching and use to take him in once a year for her 3rd graders to see when they were studying birds, he shows his wings, plays dead, tells you when he needs to potty. He hasn't taken a shower in awhile she said because she hasn't had the time in the past year. Her husband has had a stroke and she needs to help with his care too. Anyway, I say all of this knowing it will still be a major adjustment for Duke and me. I will be picking him up Sept 4th and he will bring his own cage. What I hope is I can get some good info about how to best prepare for his arrival? What can I expect? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.