New to the forums

Valyndris

Apr 24, 2019
Canada
Parrots
Jacob the blue and gold macaw
Hi, my name is Mel and I just joined these forums. I will be adopting my mothers 15 year old blue and gold macaw this weekend as she can no longer take care of him. His name is Jacob and he is such a wonderful bird. I have lived with him for 11 years of my life while I still lived at home with my parents. I have lots of experience with him and also many other birds as my mom had a pet store in the house and she specialized in birds. I took part in helping hand raise baby birds, mostly birds like cockatiels and conures and other small parrots. For 11 years I've seen my mother care for Jacob and now it is my turn. I still visited him very often for the 4 years I've been moved out and the bird absolutely loves me. I know how high maintenance a macaw is and I am ready for the responsibilities entailed in taking care of a macaw. I am new at actually owning a macaw but with lots of experience so I expect the transition to go well and of course my mother will be helping me along the way.

PS: I love the cute parrot emojis on this site :blue1:

Ellie777Australia

Apr 12, 2019
Queensland, Australia
Parrots
SI Eclectus Female, Ellie; RS/SI Eclectus Male, Bertie (both adopted as rescue/re-home)
Welcome...I'm new at 'parronting' and I wish I had some of your experience already! Well done in taking on such a long-term love/companion commitment.

This forum is full of wonderful experienced people who have a great deal of knowledge and expertise. You will find sound advice and awesome support when needed. This 'community' has assisted myself and Ellie through her first clutch of eggs. I made a few boo boos that had to be corrected. Bah humbug! I will never be 'too old to learn new tricks' eh? Ha ha...