Not Another POOP Question

VolcanoBakemeat

Jan 30, 2016
with my bird
Parrots
BIG MIKE! He's a 10 year old green cheeked conure. Loves chewing shoelaces, stealing, long walks on the beach
Hi all, this is my first time posting to this forum, but I'm glad to have made myself a member! So here's what's happening...

I have a green cheeked conure who always has green poops. A few days ago, I was admitted to the hospital, just a quick thing and I got back home the next day. When I took my bird out to let him exercise, he pooped first and I noticed it was brown. Not an alarming color for a bird's poop to be, I know which colors to look out for, and his poops HAVE gone back to normal. This is where I would close the book on this case, but with the stress and meds from my hospital stay, I want to ask for a second opinion.

My bird was looked after by my roommates for the day, his diet did not change, he couldn't have ingested something outside of his cage since my roommates are terrified of him chasing them (yeah he does that, maybe if they didn't yell and look so goofy he wouldn't wanna do that but cest la vie.) And there's nothing totally new in his room, either. So I'm wondering if there's a reason for the change in color? It was only about a day of brown poop and it went back to normal. I'm not worried, he seems totally comfortable, but I wanna rule anything out before I just forget about it.

Thanks, guys

Piasa

Jan 12, 2016
USA Nomad
Parrots
Beau 20 year old male Green Cheek || Jimmy Bullet 17 year old female white cap pionus parrot
What is his normal diet? Everything else in the poop look normal?

Probably nothing to worry about, especially if he's eating a variety of things that he can pick out that might affect the color. Very dark poops can be indicative of heavy metal poisoning and bloody stools indicative of liver troubles, but you would probably be seeing these symptoms for a bit longer than a day, and seeing other things too.