Parrot-safe air purifier

Tiel

Jan 7, 2021
Parrots
Haku (male normal grey cockatiel)
Hendrix (female yellow-faced lutino cockatiel)
Hello guys!

It's getting cold in Germany these days and I honestly don't want to open the window as much anymore, especially now that I'm dealing with a potentially infected bird. I've now decided that it's really worth to invest in an air purifier, but I'm a student on a budget and I was wondering wether this specific air purifier is bird safe. It's ozone free but I don't know if there's anything else to consider:

https://www.amazon.de/dp/B07BY3H53B/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_R05-Fb0J94W52

(Also I'm sorry for posting so many threads about everything, I'm new and there are so many questions to ask)

noodles123

Jul 11, 2018
Parrots
Umbrella Cockatoo- 15? years old..I think?
For a decent purifier, you want the square footage to be larger than the room you intend to use it in--this is important (they always seem to cover a larger area than they do, as a result of air flow etc). Also, check to see if it says anything about ionizing or "sanitizing"---- If the ozone, ion or "santitize" can be turned off, you should be okay. I haven't looked at your link, but I would spend a couple hundred minimum for a decent one, or you will end up spending more in filters long-term. Make sure it is a true hepa filter, and preferably one that filters out the smallest microns, like VOCs and smoke. Mind you, this does not mean you can use non-safe products in the home (which I'm sure you already knew).

I started off for a few years with one that was good in terms of reviews, but expensive in terms of filters and not nearly as effective when it comes to small particles (plus, it was for a very small space and even though my space was small, it was inadequate). If I could go back, I'd get a better one up-front and just get on a payment plan.

Last edited:

noodles123

Jul 11, 2018
Parrots