Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month 🏆
May 23, 2018
Media
Albums
Poland
Parrots
Bourke's parrots, green cheeked conure
Because I love parrots and learning about life history, I thought I may try to connect both - so I decided to try to draw parrots' history starting with one of the oldest vertebrates - Haikouichthys.

Notes: It may have many mistakes. I'm not an expert however I was working a bit with fossils and I know basics about the past. Of course any colors won't be right - we don't know how exactly these animals looked like.

The first drawings may be boring - at least the first drawn animal is very primitive. At the end I may try to draw some prehistoric parrots.

So, here's Haikouichthys - ~518 million years ago (Cambrian period)
haikouichthys.png

Last edited:

SailBoat

Supporting Member
Jul 10, 2015
Western, Michigan
Parrots
DYH Amazon
Challenging subject, but a worthy task!

One of the things that may help is understanding that Birds evolved when the landmasses of the World were all connected. As a result, the common features of Birds, likely defined that early group. Whether the base group formed around the "Old World" birds or the "New World" Birds either group have vast similarities. Work with those and you will should be able to define an example Bird!

clark_conure

Jul 14, 2017
Media
Minnesota
Parrots
A crossover Quaker Scuti (F), A Sun conure named AC, A Cinnamon Green Cheek conure Kent, and 6 budgies, Scuti Jr. (f), yellow (m), clark Jr. (m), Dot (f), Zebra(f), Machine (m).

Terry57

Staff member
Super Moderator
Nov 6, 2013
Media
Albums
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Parrots
Hawkhead(Darwin),YCA(Dexter),VE (Ekko),OWA(Slater),BHP(Talli),DYH(Calypso),RLA(Kimera),Alex(Xander)CBC(Phoe),IRN (Kodee,Luna,Stevie),WCP (Pisces),CAG(Justice)GCC (Jax), GSC2(Charley)