pet store employee looking to better connect with conures! :)

velvie

Jul 16, 2022
Parrots
I do not personally own parrots, but interact frequently with them as a pet store employee :)
hi, everyone! i'm velvet and i've been working at a pet store chain for about 8 months now. i LOVE my job and one of my favorite activities is closing out the small animal area at night, specifically the birds. I've grown so attached to the conures and very recently had to say goodbye to two of my longest time buddies as they left to join a very loving family; I can at least find solace in that! :') <3 more than anything else, I would really like to learn more about how I can bond with the birds in a productive and healthy way during my encounters with them. I've done some googling here and there but have learned some things just from experience (beaking was totally new to me, I thought maybe it was aggression at first but I learned very quickly what a BITE feels like LOL). all of my bird experience has come from this job and i value being able to share information about them with customers and also indulge them in details about each little guy; their personalities are so distinct and funny it's hard not to fawn over them every chance i get.

of course, we have other birds in the store as well, three cockatiels and a large group of budgies, but i will make a separate post for the cockatiels ^^ unfortunately my only interactions with the budgies are to occasionally refill food and water supplies or to send them home with a family. my time with them is not individual like with the other birds. hopefully in the future i will own couple budgies myself!

it's really nice to meet you all! <3 i hope to visit here often! :)))

Squeeing_Onion

Oct 10, 2018
Minnesota, USA
Parrots
"Bongo" - Green Cheek Conure
“Echo” - Indian Ringneck
"Chicken" - Sun Conure, rest in peace, my precious friend.