Plucked or molted feather?

ginaekkie

Mar 10, 2022
Parrots
Eclectus male and female
I have a new girl in my house. She’s 4 years old and has had what seems to be visuals of the previous plucking (or not? I'm not a pro here). This is what she looks like now and her chest it’s soft feathers and without much of the normal color. I just saw this feather fall off her when she shook how can you tell if it’s normal feather loss or from plucking? Is this normal or something to worry about?
IMG_8779.JPEG

IMG_8777.JPEG

IMG_8724.JPEG

saxguy64

Staff member
Super Moderator
Apr 24, 2018
Media
Albums
Maine, USA
Parrots
Tucker the Red Sided Eclectus
Baxter the YNA
Avery the CAG
Patches the Grand Eclectus, my best friend. RIP
Cuckoo the BFA RIP
Awww, she's beautiful! Looks to be pretty classic barbering/plucking from what I see there. How long have you had her? Has she been seen by a vet for a wellness check and possibly baseline blood work? Also, do you have any info about her past, like previous diet, cage, socialization, etc? Plucking is such a complex thing to figure out because there's so many things that can lead to it. Here's a thread that may help: https://www.parrotforums.com/threads/plucking-a-search-for-answers.52217/

So glad you found us! Looking forward to updates, and more pictures if you'd like to share them :)

OP
G

ginaekkie

Mar 10, 2022
Parrots
Eclectus male and female
We've had her (Rima) and a male (Roma) for about a week now. We are planning a vet visit and bloodwork but were trying to settle them a little first. They were both on a terrible diet (but the owners loved them like family) - mostly seed and occasional fruit/veg. We're working on converting them and they are eating more veg now mixed with seed for the first week. Will wean them off as quick as we can though.