Preening Feathers?

Amberling

Jun 5, 2022
Parrots
Budgie/Parakeet
Honestly, I thought I was doing so good and he gets very relaxed in his cute sleeping position but I don't understand why there's these loose tiny feathers flying around, unless its molting? Sorry im still new to being a parakeet mom :oops:
Also I think he's young. He just looks smaller than all the other budgies I've seen unless my eyes are tricking me :unsure:

IMG_20220608_194934.jpg
IMG_20220608_195319.jpg

(he's currently in his sleeping position atm but if this is feather falling is a sign of stress, please let me know.)

Cottonoid

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month πŸ†
Feb 20, 2022
Oh golly he's so adorable!

I vaguely remember the striping in their head feather cap can indicate age but I don't remember how far forward the cap usually is when they're babies. If I remember right it's around 4 or 5 months that they get their adult head coloring?

BirdyBee

Jan 7, 2022
Media
Albums
South Africa
Parrots
Current birds:
John
Snowy
Pippen

Past birds:
Grumpy
Sunny
Griffen
Jeff
Gertjie
Do you see any pin/blood feathers on him(those sharp feathers?) If so, he's moulting.

May 2, 2021
Media
Albums
Vermont, USA
Parrots
Stormy(M): blue Australian budgie
Picasso(F): green Australian budgie
Apollo(F): sky blue dominant pied Australian budgie
Honestly, I thought I was doing so good and he gets very relaxed in his cute sleeping position but I don't understand why there's these loose tiny feathers flying around, unless its molting? Sorry im still new to being a parakeet mom :oops:
Also I think he's young. He just looks smaller than all the other budgies I've seen unless my eyes are tricking me :unsure:

View attachment 40828View attachment 40829
(he's currently in his sleeping position atm but if this is feather falling is a sign of stress, please let me know.)