Seeking advice re: travel, cages and insurance!

EnglishMuffin

Mar 1, 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Parrots
Sootie- Yellow-sided GCC
Hi fellow twitchers :)

I am hoping to get a baby pineapple conure towards the end of April and I have a couple of questions I'd like some advice on.

firstly, I am a temporary resident and not a permanent resident of Canada. I am going through the process of applying for my residency, and it is looking very likely that I will get it. In the unlikely event that I should have to return to England for a little while, I am wondering this:

Does anyone have any advice on, or experience with, travelling overseas with conures? I'm not worried so much about cost and paperwork as that can all be worked out. Mostly I'm thinking about inducing stress in the bird. I know Air Canada (who flies directly to my hometown) allows birds in the cabin. This is the biggest fear I have for getting a connie before I obtain my permanent residency as I wouldn't want to make her sick by travelling with her. However it is likely to be over two years before I get the PR and I don't want to wait that long!

Secondly: I'm wondering what cage size I should buy, how much to spend, and any recommended brands? She is likely to be in her cage overnight (of course) and about 6 daylight hours, 4 days a week, and all day once a week (when I work a double shift on Sundays). I work early mornings and am usually home early afternoon, so she will be out of her cage a fair amount but still I'm not certain what size of cage would fit.

Finally: can anybody recommend any insurance companies that will insure her, and how much it might cost?

Thanks for any input!

Samantha

MonicaMc

Sep 12, 2012
Media
Parrots
Mitred Conure - Charlie 1994;
Cockatiel - Casey 2001;
Wild Caught ARN - Sylphie 2013
When flying internationally animals usually have to be kept in cargo. Not many animals are allowed in cabin on international flights.