Seizure

HeatherG

Apr 25, 2020
So glad you girl is doing well and sorry I don't have any good advice about getting to the vet without a fuss. But have you considered a sand perch? I use 1 for my conure but I don't leave it in the cage all the time. I put it in for about 1 week when her nails look long. I set it as the highest perch so I know it will be used and it won't get pooped on since they are hard to clean.
Some people don't like sand perches but I have been using the in this way for more than 20 yrs and never had a problem. I think part of the issue of leaving it in the cage all the time is that they are hard to clean and when they become soiled they can hold alot of bacteria
I bleach the pedicure perches when they get dirty, then soak in clean water to remove the bleach and dry in a low oven.

OP
thegars

thegars

Jul 21, 2018
Media
Florida
Parrots
4 1/2 years old now CAG..got her at 14 weeks...Debbie is still clown! Now almost 4 1/2....never a dull moment!
We had our visit with the vet yesterday…Debbie did have a seizure. Mild in the words of the vet. He was prepared, while I was panicked! She came through fine but ….still scary! She has been acting fine and very loving, especially for a Grey…and talking up a storm! My arms are very appreciative of the shorten nails and her wing trim has settled down her awesome acrobatic flights throughout the house. While trimming her wings is not my favorite safety aid, it was necessary to ensure she stays out of the kitchen when the stove is on!
At any rate, we will continue trying to get her more comfortable being in her “vet” crate and being handled…a challenge but keep trying!

SailBoat

Supporting Member
Jul 10, 2015
Western, Michigan
Parrots
DYH Amazon
Happy that things went well.
You must to remember that our Parrots lock into our emotions, your Panicking is not helpful for your Grey.
Keep working at it and you will succeed.

OP
thegars

thegars

Jul 21, 2018
Media
Florida
Parrots