Some cage help please!

Souplahoopla

Oct 2, 2022
Parrots
Indian Ringneck
I'm new to birds. I have a male 5month old Indian ringneck. He's absolutely amazing, very trusting, very affectionate. A bit of a terrorist if I'm trying to do something, but otherwise incredibly well behaved! I only got bitten for the first 3 days and he's molting and bluffing so I consider myself lucky. His cage was new so I expected some hesitation, and he's out most of the day, but by the third day he was In and out for snacks. But the evening is an absolute nightmare!!! I've put tinfoil on the curtain poles because he tries to roost up there. I could literally offer heroine and he refuses to go in! Any advice would be great!

Cottonoid

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Feb 20, 2022
I'm looking forward to what other people suggest because this is a struggle in my home too! My African Ringneck roosts as high as he can get at the window, and it's starting to be cold overnight.

Good luck to both of us!

LeeC

Jun 5, 2019
Media
Harrisburg, PA
Parrots
Timneh: Grady;
Senegal: Charlie;
Sun Conure: Peaches (deceased)
Senegal: Georgia
Peach-fronted Conure: Milton (foster)
Brown-throated Conure: Pumpkin (foster)
Senegal: Fletcher
Senegal: Ivy
At my house, "The parrot is always right.", which may make me wrong. :unsure: 😬

You want to roost up high, do you? Okay, here you go.

1665348358750.png

That photo was taken to capture the cause of some crazy chaos in the Conure Club, just the other day. Note there are three birds in the photo; one was an unexpected guest. Also note the "sleeping boxes" toward the top of the photo.

The one on the right was modeled after this one I borrowed from my local rescue.
1665348557074.png

I made a more custom-fitted one, that fit the cage better for the rescue.
1665348636853.png

The downward angle of the perch allows the tail to pass to the back.

I made a double-wide version for a bonded-pair of Amazons.
1665348708735.png