Texas
Parrots
Buddy - Red Crowned Amazon (27 yo)
Venus - Solomon Island Eclectus (4 yo)
Buzz CAG (2 yo)
Sam - Cockatiel 1997 - 2004
Tweety - Budgie 1984 - 1987
Sweety - Budgie 1985 - 1986
I did something I've never done, I took a parrot outside not in a cage. Buddy is my GCA, 24 yo, and is fully flighted. He's my green tumor, always stuck to me. Venus is my Ekkie, we are coming up on 30 days (Yay!), and her wings are clipped. This girl loves being in the window, each morning she runs to the top of her cage to the playtop next to the window and sits there for hours. I keep a bowl of food Up there for her, she's only sleeping in the cage now.

Both parrots are like night and day. Buddy is in your face, non stop noise, it's hard not to know how he's feeling but Venus is quiet, makes little sounds, and may scream once a day, I'm still learning how to gage her. So today I'm working with Venus on my shoulder. I've been debating on taking both birds outside, Buddy I won't because he can fly and well, we are working on harness training but he's not having it. So today I decided to take Venus out since her wings are clipped, we took two bags of trash out to the can out front, the weather was sunny, about 70 degrees, nothing going on outside and a trip less than a minute. She did good but she did the Ekkie freeze, she was on my shoulder, and she started shaking, totally silent. I stopped at the front door and talked to her, saying its ok, let her look around, she stopped shaking once we were inside. I think outside was too big out front. Tomorrow I'm going to take her on the back porch and sit with her and have my coffee. And I have a harness on order for her.

Anansi

Staff member
Super Moderator
Dec 18, 2013
Somerset,NJ
Parrots
Maya (Female Solomon Island eclectus parrot), Jolly (Male Solomon Island eclectus parrot), Bixby (Male, red-sided eclectus. RIP), Suzie (Male cockatiel. RIP)
Hey Tracey!