kagan1042

Feb 11, 2014
Qld, Australia
Parrots
*Verde Birdy gcc 20.12.13-15.03.14 RIP sweet girl *

* Frootie - cinnamon gcc 26.01.14 *
* Pinky - Galah - early 1980's *
Howdy :)
I'm a super newbie in the conure world and I've read that that are high fruit eaters, and not to give them too much protein because it can cause hormonal behaviour problems.
Can someone give me example of their daily diet?
Do I leave food in the cage whilst I am at work, or feed them at brekky time and then dinner time with the dogs?
Any advice would be appreciated - we get Jimmy bird in 5 weeks so I'm trying to spend this time getting all his bits and pieces ready and get myself educated

hacatta

Dec 22, 2013
Parrots
i got 1 green cheek cinnamon,a rose crowned,a yellow sided and a hybride from the first 2

Kiva
Fury
Pixel
Hope
Hi,i give them harrisons pellets when i am at work.
When i get home they get a huge bowl of fresh greens en some fruits.
In the evening as dinner they get some good seed that doesn't have sunflower seeds but dried berries.

Mekaisto

Jan 8, 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Parrots
Zookeeper who has worked with many bird species, and owner of a cheeky red-tailed black cockatoo (Ash)
Although conures are indeed fruit eaters, too much fruit can be bad for them as well, as it is high in sugar :)

You can leave food in the cage if it is not a wet pellet mix (wet/juicy fruit is fine). Don't leave food in the cage for over 24 hours, and remove any food with faeces on it.

Here is an example of what I'd give a GCC who is not currently breeding or caring for young. It is approximate, and you might have to change it depending on your conure (whether it loses/gains weight easily, etc)