Thinking of getting a Conure…..this is my first post

bkbirdlady

May 16, 2023
Brooklyn
Hello all:

I posted this on Reddit and now posting here. I didn’t get many responses. I’m a newbie to Conures but I’ve had birds (parakeets) in the past. Years ago.

My questions are pretty East what made you decide to take the plunge? I've been researching and watching all the videos I can find. How did you prepare? I am most concerned about chemicals etc in my home. Did you have to dump everything and start with new all natural brands? Is it a real hassle to clean up poop everywhere all the time? Are Conures anti-social, since I've seen a few videos where mention is made of the fact that they usually bond closely only with one family member?
The last time I had a bird the only for food was bulk birdseed. I know that is far from the case now. Do you have any recommendations/faves? I've seen a variety of cage sizes recommended for Conures. What is your experience as far as cage sizes if you have one Conure?

The bottom line: Please tell me everything you know!

zERo

Staff member
Super Moderator
Dec 9, 2021
Media
Texas
Parrots
Tony-Green QP(M)
Tom-Pineapple GCC(M)
Milly- Sparrow (F)
Welcome to the Forums! 😊

My questions are pretty East what made you decide to take the plunge?
I think this is going to vary greatly from person to person but you’re headed the right way ;)
Do all of the research you can, and if you have a parrot rescue/sanctuary near you, volunteer there to help clean cages/feed birds/etc.
It’s also a great way to find out if you can handle the noise.
How did you prepare?
I threw out any candles or commonly available cleaners out as they shouldn’t be used in a home with a bird.
However, I think some things can still be safely used.
For instance, if your bathroom has a fan and is far away from your bird, and maybe the bathroom had a window, you could clean the toilet with toilet cleaner.
For cleaning bird cages I use 50/50 mix of water and white vinegar.