Torn about which parrot to buy

Mazen697

Feb 13, 2023
Hello,

My wife and I just got married and have decided to get our first pet parrot. But there are so many options available and we are confused as to which type of parrot we should get.

These are some of the narrowed-down options available for us at our area:

1. Sun Conure
2. Jenday Conure
3. Green-Cheeked Conure (Natural, Pineapple, Yellow-sided, Turquoise)
4. Rainbow Lory

We would like a cuddly, playful, Low-Moderately loud, not too messy parrot and hopefully a bit talkative. We want to avoid an aggressive specie which has the tendency to by nippy and bitey. We would buy them as a baby (30-40 days old). We would have loads of free time to take care of it and play with it. What would you guys recommend us to get?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

ShanCaz

Jul 21, 2022
Parrots
Sun Conure
Green Cheek Conure
I have no experience with Rainbows so I won’t comment on them, but you can scratch Jendays and Sun conures right off the list if you don’t want anything too loud haha. They’re so loud, you can hear mine OUTSIDE the house. Definitely not the bird you want if you enjoy a quieter life or live in an apartment.

Green Cheeks are quieter in my experience but just as clingy and cuddly. Also, as a warning, babies like to nibble and nip. It’s not their fault, they’re just curious. They don’t really know how hard is too hard when biting and you may need to teach them. But they’ll mature and become wiser with their nibbles.

Also, look for a reputable breeder or a local bird store! Pet stores do have birds, but they aren’t handled alot or hand raised most of the time and it can be disappointing to have a bird that doesn’t trust you for a while. Plus, you won’t know their age depending on the petstore (I know petsmart offers certificates with their hatch dates. At least my local one does) and they most likely won’t be babies.