Training frequency and duration

FieryPhoenix

Jan 18, 2022
Parrots
Quaker Parrot Sun Conure
Sorry guys, I am still new to this. I just heard that a training session should be 2 to 5 minutes long. I go over that. I think my birds do better with short sessions like that, but I have the following questions.

If a session is 2 to 5 minutes, how many sessions can you have within a training period?
How long of a break between training sessions?

I just don't understand how this is organized. I have two smart birds working with an airhead LOL!

zERo

Staff member
Super Moderator
Dec 9, 2021
Media
Texas
Parrots
Tony-Green QP(M)
Tom-Pineapple GCC(M)
Milly- Sparrow (F)
I think it's fine to go over 5 minutes as long as you see your bird isn't getting overwhelmed or tired of training. With mine I do a trick training session first (2-4 minutes) then right after a flight training session (3 or so minutes), I do both of these once a day maybe 2 hours after breakfast and mine seem happy to do it.

OP
F

FieryPhoenix

Jan 18, 2022
Parrots
Quaker Parrot Sun Conure
I think it's fine to go over 5 minutes as long as you see your bird isn't getting overwhelmed or tired of training. With mine I do a trick training session first (2-4 minutes) then right after a flight training session (3 or so minutes), I do both of these once a day maybe 2 hours after breakfast and mine seem happy to do it.
So you do the first session before their breakfast and then another two hours after they eat breakfast?

zERo

Staff member
Super Moderator
Dec 9, 2021
Media
Texas
Parrots
Tony-Green QP(M)
Tom-Pineapple GCC(M)
Milly- Sparrow (F)
So you do the first session before their breakfast and then another two hours after they eat breakfast?
Oh sorry didn't seem very clear when I read it again! I do both together two hours after breakfast, no break in between those two sessions.

wrench13

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Nov 22, 2015
Media
Albums
Isle of Long, NY
Parrots