What are your thoughts on the Parrot Wizzard

FieryPhoenix

Jan 18, 2022
Parrots
Quaker Parrot Sun Conure
So along with BirdTricks.com, I have also followed Parrot Wizzard on Youtube (Michael Sazhin). I have his book and his bird training perches. The perches were expensive but they are nice a steady and my girls love them so that's the most important thing. I find a lot of Michael's training information pretty helpful but a lot of things I already like positive reinforcement. I guess after 18 years of living with birds I picked a few things. I am by no means an expert. I am a novice at best and trust me I am still learning.

There are only two things I don't necessarily agree with. I don't believe in withholding food from my girls. I mean I put it out in the morning and leave it out the whole day. True when they get up the next morning, their food is mostly eaten, but I don't take it away. When I do training I do it before I give them their food. That's one thing I learned from both Parrot Wizzard and Bird Tricks. But a side note, the only time I may take food away is sometimes with fresh fruits in the hot weather. I may take them away after a few hours if I am concerned about bugs.

Another thing is that I don't think it is horrible for one to clip wings. Now my Sunny is flighted and a very good flyer when she chooses to do so. However, Nikki is a wing amputee so she can't fly (she could fly before she developed the tumor on her wing). I was a little sad for Nikki when Michael mentioned that birds were designed to fly LOL! I know what he meant, but you know what I am getting at. In the early stages of their lives, they were both clipped birds.

What are your thoughts?

SailBoat

Supporting Member
Jul 10, 2015
Western, Michigan
Parrots
DYH Amazon