Which parrot should I choose?

southshore

Aug 15, 2014
Hi all! Hope you and your birds are well. I am new to keeping parrots but have had the experience of handling some really wild species of animals. I want to ultimately have a Scarlet Macaw, but I don't want to jump into it unprepared knowing they are probably the toughest Macaw. I was hoping someone here can guide me to the one species I should start my journey with but I don't want to start with the extreme opposite end of the spectrum and get a super calm parrot such as the Pionus or the Poicephalus family. I want to start with a moderate bird. The options I am looking into currently are the Indian Ring Neck, the Alexandrine parakeet (I live in Pakistan where these birds are native and thus HUGE savings on the cost of bird) or the Red Fronted Macaw. Wanting to get to ultimate end up with a large Macaw, I was thinking that it could be a good decision to get a larger of the smaller macaws. I want to own two birds that would prepare me for a Scarlet. I was thinking the route to take could be maybe getting a smaller macaw, then the relatively easier of the large ones i.e a blue and gold or green wing etc. and then hopefully being adequately trained by then to finally go for the Scarlet.

I would love to hear your opinion on this. So, two parrots that will act as step 1 and step 2 leading to the final step that is the Scarlet. Also, I intend to free flight train all my parrots I would be getting. Kindly also let me know which is the easiest to handle species of the 17 Macaw species? Looking forward to hearing from you :) All advice would be greatly appreciated!

P.S. Could find much about the temperament of the Red Fronted Macaw on the internet. If someone could send me a link with detailed information on temperent and training that would be just great!

Last edited:
May 2, 2021
Media
Albums
Vermont, USA
Parrots
Stormy(M): blue Australian budgie
Picasso(F): green Australian budgie