Wild Fire Smoke and GCC lungs

fjordandforest

Jun 27, 2022
Parrots
Pineapple Green Cheek named Scrimp
Hey everyone! I am new to the parrot world, I adopted a GCC named Scrimp about 2 months ago. I like in Alaska and we currently have wicked bad smoke from fires. I have a med grade air scrubber running next to his cage on high, the HRV on high and everything closed up tight. If anyone has any other suggestions or tips Iā€™d greatly appreciate it. Thanks so much!
532ECA3C-EF48-411A-87F1-780F10971325.jpeg

SailBoat

Supporting Member
Jul 10, 2015
Western, Michigan
Parrots
DYH Amazon
You have targeted the correct tools to clean the air entering your home. Clearly you know this, but assure that you keep watch and be ready to move if the fire continues in your direction. Check your auto, newer autos will have cabin air filters that will help if you need to move. If not keep the fresh air system use to a minimum until you move out of the smoke area.

Cottonoid

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month šŸ†
Feb 20, 2022
Welcome! I was right where you are a few months ago and it can feel like a lot to get right all at once, can't it?

The high quality air purifier is a great tool, and keeping windows closed is always a must. Depending on your window construction and humidity and whether you're likely to have issues with mold, increasing humidity can help respiratory health in general - my vet has recommended this in the past for my non-bird pets too (cat with lung issues). I've also put wet towels across the bottom of the windows where mine had little gaps - basically anywhere that I feel a draft in winter, I block with wet towels in smoky conditions.