Advice to keep my Sun healthy

Zazu

Jan 20, 2012
North Eastern United States
Parrots
Sun Conure
First off, I want to thank everyone at this site for a wonderful way to find information on parrot ownership! I have been researching Sun Conures for the last two years before finally bringing my new baby Sun, Zazu, home! I have also been perusing some of the wealth on info listed throughout this site and extremely pleased with the knowledge I have found so far. I do still have a few questions though and hope that it is not something that was previously asked elsewhere on here. I have read about being able to give your Sun fruit but not dried fruit and would love to know what the difference between the two would be, and why it is not good for them? I had not seen this mentioned in the books that I have read. Also I have a ventless propane stove in my living room and am worried about my sun being near this healthwise. Can this have a negative effect on him? Right now he is in a different room away from this and I am wanting to move him into a larger cage located in the living room which is where the stove is located. I do know that they are very succeptible to gases, even ones that we may not detect! I am also looking into purchasing a larger floor model cage for his "day" cage but upon reading, found out that too large of a cage is actually not good, for this may cause him to not feel "safe." Now I am unsure about the cage that I had already picked out! The cage that I am looking at is about 40" wide and 75" in height total from top to bottom.It also has a seed skirt and play top included. It is listed on ebay and does say that it can be for a Sun Conure. I hope that I have not asked to many questions!! If so, I apolagize! Any advice will be welcome!! Thank you all!

Zazu:orange:

Helitorian

Dec 15, 2011
Nebraska
Parrots
RIP Constantine: Jenday Conure
You can never ask too many questions when it comes to your bird :)