Age these please

Dustinn91

Oct 10, 2013
Hello everyone I'm new to this and today became the owner of 2 baby cockatiels. The breeder I bought them from told me they were about six weeks old but looking online I'm not so sure? Any advise and tips for raising them would be appreciated. I purchased exact hand feeding formula and the guy told me to feed them 3 times a day. Thanks -Dustin

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    94.1 KB · Views: 335

DallyTsuka

Mar 19, 2011
Ontario, Canada
Parrots
Dallas and Tsukasa (Cockatiels)
Mango and Munchlax (Peach Faced Lovebirds)
they look 4-6 weeks to me, but some breeders on here will be able to tell you for sure. do you know how to handfeed?

OP
D

Dustinn91

Oct 10, 2013
I've hand fed baby birds before that a friend of mine had but I didn't raise them or kno their feeding schedule. I've only rehabilitated baby squirrels and was successful with that. So this is my first time with birds. I'm open to any advise!

crimson

Oct 8, 2012
Media
Ontario,Canada
Parrots
Senegal-Martini,1 pineapple conure~ Kahlua,1 GCC~ Flare, spl/b, 4 Lovebirds Halo,Tye-Die,Luna,Violet,8 Cockatiels,Num Num&Tundra,8-Ball&Angus,Magnet&Sunkist,Pearl, Blush, 1 gouldian finch, 7 canaries
I can tell you neither are 6 weeks. the bigger one is at the most 5 and the younger one is about 4 weeks. baby has been plucked due to lack of feathers on the head across the shoulders.
there is quite a difference in size,the large one was born first, then another egg or two was laid, and they either a)didn't hatch or b)they died, then the youngest one came along which = the difference in size.
at this age you should be introducing pellets(crushed)seed, water, and millet.
millet is the first thing you should put into the cage.
also add perches low into the cage,and toys so they can learn to perch, and play
my birds are climbing at 3-4 weeks of age, and are eating by the time they are 5-6 weeks.