Anyone got experience with quail???

Betrisher

Jun 3, 2013
Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Parrots
Dominic: Galah(RIP: 1981-2018); The Lovies: Four Blue Masked Lovebirds; Barney and Madge (The Beaks): Alexandrines; Miss Rosetta Stone: Little Corella
I was thinking of putting a pair of quail in the Beaks' cage to pick up the (considerable) amount of food they waste. Has anyone done that? Would the Alexes attack an innocent quail? And what size quail should I think of (if any)?

I thought maybe a pair of Jap Quail or Bobwhites. The floor area is about 2m x 1m: is that too small? What do you think???

Bundiibird

Mar 9, 2013
Rockhampton, Qld, Australia
Parrots
Bundiibird - Alex - hatched 31/08/09
& Millie - BFA - hatched 29/10/14 & Willow - CAG - hatched 30/10/19
Trish, I have no experience with quail and had not thought of that. I am not sure that Bundii would take to anyone "invading" her home. But that is Bundii. She is a single bird on her own and I don't think she would like any playmates. :) but I maybe wrong.

crimson

Oct 8, 2012
Media
Ontario,Canada
Parrots
Senegal-Martini,1 pineapple conure~ Kahlua,1 GCC~ Flare, spl/b, 4 Lovebirds Halo,Tye-Die,Luna,Violet,8 Cockatiels,Num Num&Tundra,8-Ball&Angus,Magnet&Sunkist,Pearl, Blush, 1 gouldian finch, 7 canaries
I think you have two different issues.
one being your Alexes may not take kindly to your innocent quail.
the poor things could not defend themselves should something 'tick' them off.

the second thing I wanted to bring to your attention is, you know how when seed gets on the bottom of the cage, some of it gets pooped on right?....I would think if quail eat that, they would possibly get sick like any other bird.

I know they are ground dwellers, and lots of breeders use them for clean up purposes, I have thought about it as well, but do you think your lovebirds would accept them?

Mike17

Aug 12, 2013
Media
Albums
Outback Western Australia
Parrots