Behavior Question

Otter

Jan 21, 2020
Louisville, KY
Parrots
Princess Mia: Blue Fronted Amazon ~14 years old
Is it just me, or is Mia being hormonal? Here's a link to video. I sent her back to her own personal space when she did this. https://photos.app.goo.gl/PuNdoSArPgrPiwyQ8

She's only known me a week really, so what causes this to happen so fast and what can I do? I hypothesized that it's because she had little direct attention before coming here so my attention is over stimulating her right now.
Thoughts?

LaManuka

Staff member
Super Moderator
Aug 29, 2018
Media
Albums
Queensland, Australia
Parrots
Fang ({ab}normal grey cockatiel), Valentino (budgie), Jem (cinnamon cockatiel), Lovejoy(varied lorikeet), Peach (princess parrot)
I am by NO means an Amazon expert, but you do want to prevent Mia from burrowing into anything that could even remotely be interpreted as a nesting site. Calmly and gently taking her back to neutral territory is indeed a good way to handle this but you (and everyone else in the household) need to be absolutely consistent in this because a hormonal hen will be EXTREMELY determined to get her own way when she’s feeling broody.