Bugs?

HouseFan711

Mar 1, 2015
NY
I absolutely hate bugs.
Before I get my bird I want to know how to avoid getting bugs with bird seed.
I heard that I can keep it in the freezer.
What do I do with the food that the bird is eating? Store it in the fridge?
How many cups of food does a small conure eat per day?
How long can I leave the food in the cage cups before I risk getting bugs?
How much food that I'm using should I store?
How many days can I store bird food in the fridge? (Or where ever I can store it without risking bugs)

(I'm sorry if these questions seem silly, but I'm completely new to birds and just found I can't store their food like I can my dogs. In the bag in a cabinet)

Flboy

Dec 28, 2014
Greater Orlando area, Florida
Parrots
JoJo, 'Special' GCC, Bongo, Cinnamon GCC(wife's)
First, conure? Please no seeds! Do some reading thru the forum, you will understand. Pellets good, but also fruits veggies etc. if it is good for you, it good for birdie too- No avacado!! Even a little will kill! Buy small bags of pellets, yes, can keep in freezer!
A suggestion, get used to bugs, you are eating them every day mixed into almost everything you have!

I just went thru your posting history, very glad to see you trying to work this all out up front!!

Last edited:

JamesC

Sep 3, 2011
Knoxville, TN
Parrots
Blue Crown Conures: Tootsie and Rosco.
Senegal Parrot: Sidney.

Feathers of the past:
Budgies: Sunshine, Digit, Kiwi, and Yahto.
Senegal Parrot: Kelly.
"Fly free, little ones. Love and miss you."
Nothing silly unless you didn't ask at all.