Can someone who works full time have a bird? Also asking about birds who have plucked most of their feathers out.

linda888

Jan 17, 2024
Parrots
None yet
Hello, do most people who have birds have stay-at-home jobs, or no job? There is a plucked goffin cockatoo at a local rescue who caught my eye. I would love to be able to give her a happier life. I'm ok if she's not hand tame, and I know she may never regrow her feathers, and I'm ok with that. But I'm a teacher, so I'm gone from 8:00 - 4:00 M-F. I do have weekends off, 2 weeks at Christmas, 10 days in the spring, and of course summer break. I don't want to adopt her if she will be unhappy with me, only if I would be making a positive difference for her. Thank you

petunia

Jan 8, 2024
Parrots
Personally, I would say no. That bird may have problems in her previous home and leaving it alone for some time during the day is not good. She/he needs a routine. You might want to check with a vet to see if there are any diseases causing the plucking. One more thing, when choosing a bird make sure it is your heart bird.

Jcas

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Jan 9, 2023
Parrots
Quaker, 2 budgies