Copper toys

azdesertrhino

Oct 29, 2010
Tucson, AZ
Parrots
Blue & Gold Macaw
Our B&G Macaw can destroy the little toy bells that come on "retail" toys in a hurry.

the first thing he attacks is the clapper, which I then have to remove due to fear he will somehow swallow it.

I work in the refrigeration industry and we use ACR copper pipe (99.96% pure copper).

I thought about making some do-dads out of copper using 40% silver solder for Mac. There appears to be some concerns about the toxicity of copper to birds. Some sites say it's ok some say NO.

Anyone have real world info on this matter?

Thanks,

Jim

MikeyTN

Feb 1, 2011
Antioch, TN
Parrots
"Willie"&"Lola"B&G Macaw,
"Dixie"LSC2, and "Nico" Scarlet Macaw.
I personally don't use any copper period around my animals. There's people that does, not me....

Pedro

Dec 15, 2010
Australia
Parrots
2 Budgies, 3 Cockatiels, 6 GCC'S, 2 Crimson Bellie Conures, 9 Sun Conures, 2 Major Mitchells, 12 Eclectus parrots of various ages, 2 BF Amazons, 2 Hahn's Macaw's, 1 Red Tail Black Too
To be on the safe side i wouldn't use copper either.

I buy solid stainless steel bells for my parrots.

I always er on the side of caution with my birds & if in doubt just leave it out.

OP
azdesertrhino

azdesertrhino

Oct 29, 2010
Tucson, AZ
Parrots
Blue & Gold Macaw
I appreciate the input.

Back to the search for safe toy material at reasonable prices!!:D

Copper is off the board!!

HRH Di

Jan 9, 2010
Media
McKinney, TX
Parrots
Max - Alexandrine, Jade - Red-Front Macaw, Ruby - CAG
Toys are sooooo expensive! It's really hard to keep up. There are lots of household "garbage" that our parrots just love - paper towel and toilet paper tubes (whole or cut into pieces); plastic lids from water bottles/milk jugs; coffee filters (unused, of course); cut up pieces of cereal boxes - just to name a few.