Don't think I've got her diet right.

Rrrma

Jul 22, 2010
USA
Parrots
see signature
I got my 14yo CAG exactly a month ago from a breeding situation. She was being fed nothing but a cheap bagged seed mix and a vitamin supplement. She seemed very healthy and I do think she was getting what she needed as far as nutrients, just not in its healthiest form.

I have since been trying to switch her to a more natural diet and she eats it. She eats everything I give her, but I don't think I'm giving her enough of the right stuff.

I'm new to greys and I'm used to my eclectus and her needs for a very low fat diet. From what I've read greys need a higher fat diet and more calcium.

I've been feeding her everything I give my eclectus, but with a little more pellets and a little less fruits.

I don't think I have it right though. She seems slightly thinner and she doesn't always have fecal matter in her droppings. After she eats her fresh food she will, but as the day goes on and she hasn't had dinner yet, she loses the fecal matter.

I'm guessing that she isn't getting enough food to create the waste that is feces. And I need to redo her diet.

Right now she gets 2 tablespoons of pellets and a little bit of ground cuddlebone and about 2-3 tablespoons of combined sprouts/fruits/veggies/starches in the morning. Then at dinner time I will give more pellets if the bowl is empty and she gets 2-3 tablespoons of beans/veggies/rice. She usually eats everything and loves it. She will also get some seeds/nuts during playtime(out of cage time) and sometimes I put a nut or two in her pellet bowl in the morning.

I need to get a gram scale, which I have every intension on doing after work today.

She is much more active since I brought her home, and to my hand she doesn't feel lighter, but she looks thinner in the stomach and the lack of fecal matter at certain times of the day makes me think she isn't getting enough fiber/protein.