Found three feathers

Marlee99

Feb 13, 2011
As I am new to Cockatoo's I'm not to sure if this is normal or it's the start of plucking.

Today I was cleaning underneath Willow's cage (yes I changed her name :)) and I found three wing feathers. I was a little alarmed! Should I be?

In case some of you didn't see my original post Willow is new to me, just over a week now. I wonder if this is stress related from the move?

Also, I am having a hell of a time switching her over to pellets. I am giving her Harrison's High Potency. So I feed her usual seed only diet in the morning. I then leave the pellets out during the day and then seed at dinner. I have cut the seed back but I don't know how much I can do that. I know with my dogs they will eventually eat when they are hungry. The cat will starve and become sick if you try to give a food he doesn't like. Are Cockatoo's the same? I have also tried birdy bread, she will not even look at it.

The only things she takes willingly are the following:
Sunflower seeds, apple, corn, and rice. :( She does not seem to like any veggies. I am of course going to keep trying but right now I want to get her off of the seeds. Any help would be appreciated.

MikeyTN

Feb 1, 2011
Antioch, TN
Parrots
"Willie"&"Lola"B&G Macaw,
"Dixie"LSC2, and "Nico" Scarlet Macaw.