Future Conure owner

Chihuahua

Jun 8, 2015
Parrots
1 Sun Conure "Orion" 4 yrs
Hello! I'm Toby and I'm very new to birds. I met a sun conure a few years ago and fell in love. I currently live in a trailer on my mom's property so I have to pass all pets by her... she gave the green light on a bird :) Originally I was going to go with ducks but I wanted something a little closer/more interactive so I did a bunch of research and craigslist browsing and found a sun conure I'm going to be checking out tomorrow. If all goes to plan I'll be coming home with the little guy. :) I have done a LOT of research, but any tips for new conure owners would be wonderful. Biggest thing right now is I need a way to keep my computer cords out of the way/safe from a curious bird so any suggestions would be awesome. Thanks a bunch!

Kyoto

Mar 18, 2015
Media
Halifax, NS, Canada
Parrots
Kyoto (AKA Kyo)-Green Cheek Conure
Charlie - Canary
Tommy - Budgie
Sunny - budgie
Be prepared for having a tiny 3 year old that wants all of your attention all of the time :3 pretty much my relationship with my GCC. I love her to pieces and wouldn't trade her for anything <3

Good luck with your introduction!!

Xraysrrad

May 31, 2015
Media
North Carolina
Parrots
Crimson-Bellied Conure - Bodhi - Ramsey- Labradoodle
Hi Chihuahua & welcome!

I am a new bird owner myself, so I am far from an expert!

I think the key is predicting and preventing this behavior before it starts. Birds are naturally curious and “social” nibblers. If he begins to nibble on cords and then you offer a distraction, he/she may view this as a reward.

When Bodhi is out of his cage, he is not left alone to wonder. I keep him quite busy. If he is perched elsewhere other than his cage, he has toys to play with. My computer is set up a few feet away from his cage. If I need to work, I let him play on his cage with the door open to he can keep busy. (But only after we have had our play time together).