General Questions

Jammin31

Apr 15, 2012
Hi Everyone,

Im new to birdkeeping and have decided after weeks of research to get myself a GCC. As im new to them i wondered if someone could give me some basics to keeping them along with any tips.

Ive been offered a baby from a reputable breeder aged approx 4 weeks old but im concerned this is to young but at the same time i really want a tame affectionate pet that i can spend alot of time with so thought handrearing is best to ensure its as tame as i want.

Any Advice In General Please ?

jewels04

Feb 4, 2012
Parrots
JJ-sun conure hatched roughly 1/16/2012

Cinderella-white and blue female budgie hatched 4/08/12

Rigby-white and blue male budgie hatched 5/05/2012
All I can say is do not take the baby unweaned you do not want to have to handfeedings a baby seeing as your new to birds. Birds won't bond stronger to the handfeeder either. I would wait until the baby is fully weaned onto a pellet diet.

OP
J

Jammin31

Apr 15, 2012
Ok, so can you tell me at what age i should get one in order for it to be as tame as possible ?

Any other tips or advice regarding Conures would be much appreciated from anyone on here.

jewels04

Feb 4, 2012
Parrots
JJ-sun conure hatched roughly 1/16/2012

Cinderella-white and blue female budgie hatched 4/08/12

Rigby-white and blue male budgie hatched 5/05/2012
We got our sun conure and she was 9 weeks old and fully weaned.

I would just make sure you find a breeder that you are comfortable with. Make sure you know what the baby will be weaned onto so you can have some ready and waiting for your baby.

In regards to taming not really sure every bird is different. For our sun she was pretty comfortable stepping up from the day after we got her and it just got easier and easier as time went on (we've had her for a month now). To the point where as soon as my hand goes in if she wants to come out she just hops on and waits for me to bring her out.