Go HOME!

RachelMarie

Mar 7, 2012
For the love of pete, I can NOT get my Nanday (Pretty Bird) to go back into his cage. She's tame, knows how to "step up" but once she's on my finger, flies right to my shoulder. Getting her into her cage is driving me nuts. It's took me close to an hour to get her there today. What am I doing wrong? Sometimes she'll go from my shoulder to the cage if I tell her to go "home" while tapping on the cage. But the rest of the time it is seriously me chasing a bird around trying to get her to go. She doesn't like to be picked up by the body, so I try not to so I don't scare her.

For those of you that haven't read my "introduction" I am VERY new to the life of birds. My husband got this gal from a friend that had to get rid of it and didn't know what to do with her. Being animal lovers, he brought her home. I've been doing all kinds of research but I do have a few questions that I can't seem to find anywhere....

We live in Florida. For those of you that don't know Florida well...it gets hotter than hot here. The humidity is what gets you. Pretty Bird is a VERY tame indoor free flight bird and we are very interested in getting her a harness so we can take her places. My question is...will the heat and humidity be hard on her (like it is on dogs, and heck...humans)? Can we take her where there is salt water or is that a no go? I'm asking because we are huge campers/hikers etc. I would love to take her along on these little mini trips but it gets hot. I don't want to stress her out.

Also, when she flies through the archways in our house, she tends to sometimes hit her wings on them. What should I do to stop this? Will it hurt her? I don't want to not let her fly...she's good at it and loves to be able to move around like that, but I'm so afraid she will hurt her wings.

Oh, and one more thing...anyway she has a snooze button I don't know about? lmao

OP
R

RachelMarie

Mar 7, 2012