Hello from Florida!

LuvofOrville

Apr 26, 2021
Hello Everyone. I am new to parrot parenting. My neighbor recently went into a nursing home and left her parrot on her carport with an occasional girl down the street feeding it and her dogs. I have been watching this parrot live under a tarp-covered cage for 20 years. My daughter (who is now 23) was about 3 when the neighbor brought the bird to her house. We noticed because of the noise lol. Anyway, she did not take very good care of the parrot. He was never outside his cage, kept under a tarp to control his noises, and fed who knows what for the entire time I have known her to have him. I did call the SPCA a few times to report her but they never seemed to do anything. Long story short, when she went into the nursing home about 6 months ago, I tried to get the bird then; however, the girl taking care of it refused to let me have it. Recently, she came to me and told me she could not afford food and wanted me to feed him. I said sure, I will feed him, but only at my house with me. The girl agreed! I now have Orville, a 35-year-old Amazon parrot. He is surprisingly friendly. We cleaned out the poop that was 6-inches deep in his cage and have him in a new cage with fresh fruits and veggies (which he is still trying to decide if he can eat it or not) and is kept on my porch with the door open so he can venture out (which he only likes sitting on the doorway and not actually coming out. He has tried to fly but goes immediately to the ground and crashes into things. So he wants back in his cage immediately. He loves his head scratched and rubbed and will step onto a stick and sometimes my arm. I have never been a parrot owner. I really just wanted to get him away from the horrible life I have had to watch him live for many years. The woman who owns him is not going to come home. She is aware that the girl gave me the bird and the woman's daughter said I could have him. I have been reading as much as I can about parrots and