Hello :)

tab_xo

Aug 9, 2012
Queensland, Australia
Parrots
Fargo- Blue and Gold Macaw
Hello,
I am new to the parrot forum and just looking for ideas from other parrot people :D
I live in australia recently my blue quaker passed away, but after a few months i have decided to get a new friend!
In 4 weeks i will be getting a blue and gold macaw, his name is Fargo :p
So now its time to start redecorating my room with a bigger cage and toys!
I have visited the macaw breeder twice and going again in a week to visit my little man, who is now 6 months old.
He was a bit cheekier than a few of the other ones, but i like bigger personalities!
I am at home 24/7 so definitely have the extra time to put into him as the owner said he would take a bit longer to tame down but he said i have the dedication, as by the end of our visit i had him sitting nicely eating a nut ! :)

Just wondering if anyone has advice on what toys they like the best?

I have brought him a big corner cage with the dimensions 185cm(H)x155cm (W) x123cm(D).

I also thought of getting a cargo net, but they are very expensive for what they are! Does anyone know how to make them or what type of rope it is? :)

Also, i know macaws can bite hard! my mum is scared he will bite my finger off haha my quaker would bite when i first got him and he was also not very tame,,, but i would just say No, and place him down if he tried to bite and he learnt very quickly not to bite.

Does this method work the same on macaws, if not, what method did your macaw work best to?

Another question! I never harness trained my quaker, but i thought it would be a good idea to teach Fargo so then he can go outside and fly.

Apparently he is a bit scared of the harness at the moment, so do you think in time he will get use to it?

:blue1:

Thank you :)

ConureCrazy

Jun 13, 2012
Media
California
Parrots
Senegal: Oliver ~~
Yellow-Sided GCC's: Bella and Zora ~~
R.I.P Tweeters the Cockatiel<3