help with my kakarikis

stans

Aug 3, 2011
hi everyone, im new to this sort of thing,
can anyone help please, i have 2 kakarikis i think male and female, i pot them together they got on after a couple of days, the one bird i think is the male was feeding the other bird, now since i have put in a nest box the female wont let the other bird up the cage? my male bird i think will watch the other when it gets close to him, and he now sitts in the corner for a while, can anyone help on please, and thankyou:confused:

Pedro

Dec 15, 2010
Australia
Parrots
2 Budgies, 3 Cockatiels, 6 GCC'S, 2 Crimson Bellie Conures, 9 Sun Conures, 2 Major Mitchells, 12 Eclectus parrots of various ages, 2 BF Amazons, 2 Hahn's Macaw's, 1 Red Tail Black Too
Take the nest box out until the bond. You may have to even get a DNA to make sure you actually have a pair if you bought them for the purpose of breeding. I am guessing you haven't had them very long, also do you know how old they are.

OP
S

stans

Aug 3, 2011
hi thanks for your reply, my wife got me the male for fathers day last year, so its ove 1 year old, the other came from a breeder who said its a female i now him, its about 8 months old? looks alot smaller than my male it also has a smaller head thanks alan

Pedro

Dec 15, 2010
Australia
Parrots
2 Budgies, 3 Cockatiels, 6 GCC'S, 2 Crimson Bellie Conures, 9 Sun Conures, 2 Major Mitchells, 12 Eclectus parrots of various ages, 2 BF Amazons, 2 Hahn's Macaw's, 1 Red Tail Black Too
Your hen maybe a bit on the young side & isn't ready to breed. I would still let them bond before introducing the nest box. I would put the box back in prior to the next breeding season. But that is only my opinion.

OP
S

stans

Aug 3, 2011
ok thanks i will take the box out tomorrow,she is leaning on the perch swalking but he doe`s nothing he might be gay lol only joking cheers alan

MikeyTN

Feb 1, 2011
Antioch, TN
Parrots
"Willie"&"Lola"B&G Macaw,
"Dixie"LSC2, and "Nico" Scarlet Macaw.