How "in your face" are GCC *really?!*

erinyay

Aug 28, 2014
Hi, all!

I'm in the very early stages of researching conures, with the ideal hope of getting a GCC in 6-12 months (my partner and I need to sell our house and resettle beforehand!) and have one very pressing question that I can't find an adequate answer to elsewhere:

Do GCC *have* to be literally touching your face/giving lip-kisses/etc all the darn time (as I've seen in countless videos) to thrive, or can they be trained to stay out of faces without sacrificing their emotional wellbeing?

I ask because, well, I don't like things--other people, my dog, hair, wind--in my face unless I want them there! Since they're such smart little birds, it seems as though training (I was a R+ dog trainer before having kids and am very excited about the prospect having of a talking, flying dinosaur to train and love and cuddle) they can be taught boundaries and to "respect" personal space.

What do you think about a GCC for someone who is touchy about her face in specific?

Thanks so much! I've been reading this board for a while and am learning so much!

Phlox

Jun 16, 2014
You can teach any bird to avoid your face by not letting them near it, but GCCs are very tactile birds as a general rule and need a lot of physical affection (usually, but not 100% of course.)

I actually got a 2nd bird, a MBC thinking it might make my GCC a little less wanting, but now I have earmuffs. They are just as velcro together as Phlox was on her own.

Your face can be protected, but if you don't want to be touched or are touch adverse, you might want a different bird, like maybe a cockatiel who are affectionate but less touchy-feely.

ErichT

Jan 5, 2014
Media
Spring Hill,Florida
Parrots
Mango - Sun Conure
Kiwi- Green Cheek Conure
My GCC likes to be near me but not on me and is never near my face. My sun Conure is much more a cuddle bug.

Selestine

Jun 18, 2013
Glendale, AZ
Parrots