I am a new parakeet owner, any advice?

kgrube

Apr 21, 2023
Parrots
Parakeet
PXL_20230421_135211126.jpg

About 6 months ago I happened upon a little parakeet in a parking lot. He looked really frumpled when we got him (the picture above is a recent one) I haven't socialized him to me yet- he doesn't seem to like people all that much. I'm also assuming he is male because of his cere, but I heard that it can be difficult to gender them! As you can tell I am new to this. Recently I have decided to purchase a bigger cage and maybe potentially purchase him a friend so he's not so lonely. I heard that when purchasing another bird there is a quarantine period of about a month- can anyone give me advice on how to go about giving Neptune a happy life and how to introduce him to a new bird (if that's a good idea.) I'm all for constructive criticism/helpful tips! Thank you.

zERo

Staff member
Super Moderator
Dec 9, 2021
Media
Texas
Parrots
Tony-Green QP(M)
Tom-Pineapple GCC(M)
Milly- Sparrow (F)
Your bird is definitely a male! And a very pretty boy!

Only get him a friend if you feel like YOU want one, not to get him a friend. If he seems lonely and you want another bird then absolutely go for it.
As far as quarantine goes, it’s essentially useless, so I’ve heard, if you don’t have a separate building to put the new bird in, but most people don’t have the luxury of doing so.
At the least, keep the new bird in a different room and wash your hands between birds.

Once the quarantine period is over, you can introduce them, from experience, budgies tend to become fast friends.
Two males are more likely to get along but if you end up with a female, it can still work.
I have 3 males and 1 female living together and they never seriously fight, though bickering is to be expected, even among males.
When introducing them, maybe bring the new bird into the room your current budgie is in and let them see each other, they’ll probably start chirping to each other.