I need help for a research with macaws!

grajilla

Jun 26, 2023
Hello! My name is Carmen, I am a spanish researcher that wants to study the sense of smell in macaws. I have recently published the first report confirming that they can use the sense of smell to locate food https://doi.org/10.1111/1749-4877.12694

I have noticed that some macaw species like Ara macao have a strong sweet smell and I want to analyse the volatile composition of the preen oil. However, some colleges have told me that to take samples of preen secretion is extremely difficult because it is not like other birds that you only need to gently press the gland to obtain an oil sample.

Could you please tell me what macaw species do you have and what happens if you gently press the preen oil gland? Pictures and videos would be awesome!

Thank you ;)

PrimorandMoxi

May 29, 2015
New Jersey
Parrots
Max (23yo) Blue and Gold Macaw,
&
PRIMOR (8yo) Red Lored Amazon,
&
ABBA (33yo) Red Lored Amazon - RIP
I have a Blue & Gold and I've never tried it or heard of anyone doing it.

Maybe you can tell me more about this gland?
Where is it?
Macaws do but amozons don't have it?

You are studying their sense of smell and also their scent?

Thank you!

OP
G

grajilla

Jun 26, 2023
Sorry for not explaining it! It's a gland near the base of the tail:

Buerzeldruese.jpg

maxresdefault.jpg

I think all parrots have it, but maybe is not equally developed. It is not well studied.

I want to know if it is possible to collect the preen gland oil to analyse the volatile chemical compounds on it because I think their sweet smell can convey information (maybe reproductive availability or sex identification).

DonnaBudgie

Supporting Member
Jan 24, 2023
Windham, Maine
Parrots
Budgies. Lotsa Budgies.