Info on the Life of a Cockatoo Owner?

LeafintheWind

Oct 4, 2011
Hello, =)

Before I do something that I may potentially regret, I want to ask the experts. I would like to get a ducorps cockatoo. I've been doing research and thinking about it for months now, and I know that if I had any doubt in my mind about getting one, that I should not since they are so tricky, to put it lightly. I guess I'll sum up my life in a nutshell, and then say what it is that I'm looking for in a pet bird.

First of all, I'm a college student. I live with my boyfriend, where we have a young, large dog and two ferrets. The thing is, I don't find it necessary to go to class that often, so I AM home a lot of the time. When I am not home, he is since he tends to work at night while I work during the day. Usually, the only times I go out are to go my job at a pet store ( generally 20 hours a week ) and occasionally go to campus for an exam, quiz or lab. That and I'm out of the house for general needs, such as grocery shopping but of course that's assumed. I'm completely aware that a large parrot is generally a life time commitment and isn't just some phase that a kid, such as myself, will go through, grow out of and want a baby. I do expect to have children somewhere down the road, but that's not until at least 7 - 10 years from now. At that point, I still expect to have my bird, of course, and I have read of the issues of having an already accustomed bird with a new born baby. I'm not the most experienced bird owner I will definitely admit, though my parents owned cockatiels for quite a while and I have worked at a pet store where we have had a large selection of birds, including african greys, conures, only one cockatoo (a U2) quakers, love birds, cockatiels, you name it. We, of course handle them all the time so that's where most of my experience with birds comes from.