Is A Conure Good for A First Bird?

LexieGirl96

Oct 16, 2011
Hiya!

So..I'm new to this bird thing ^^; But I've recently fallen in love with them. I'm particularly attached to Sun Conures, and how pretty they really are!

Since I've never owned a bird before, I'm asking a lot of people on their oppinions. I would like to know, because the Sun Conure I'm looking at at PetSmart is $600.

Here's some fun facts:

I'm almost 15 years old
I'm a Freshman
My Dad is not open to the idea of birds (but he DOES warm up to everything. It's best to ask for forgiveness, then to ask for a bird)

If you don't think a Conure is a good fit, what do you think would?

Many thanks!

Rio Mom

Apr 7, 2011
Pennsylvania
Parrots
River - Green Cheek
Conure/
Pepper - Congo African Grey/

Rest in Peace Rio
If your dad is not open to the idea of birds, then you should not get one until you're older and out on your own. It would be very sad and unfair to a bird to end up rehomed or in a rescue because the whole family didn't agree on having a bird. A bird is a big commitment, will take up a lot of your time, and can be very loud. (Especially suns). They also live for a very long time. Do you know what your future plans are after high school? What will happen to the bird then? Not many college dorms allow pets, a lot of apartments won't either.

melinda

Aug 10, 2011
TN
Parrots
5 year old cockatoo Chloe and 3 year old sun conure Joe Joe
Khloe 15 year old orange wing amazon