Just brought home my first bird, an Alexandrine

Beaker

Oct 16, 2015
Tennessee
Parrots
Alexandrine
So I'm pretty new to owning a bird and have a few questions.

Beaker is a male, he was dna tested by the breeder I bought him from. He is about 14 months old. When I brought him home he was pretty tame. When he wants to, he will step up onto my hand or he will fly off of his perch down to the floor and walk over to me so i will pick him up. Sometimes his eyes start pinning I guess is the term. Small big small big. Is that a sign of aggression, fear, excitement or anxiety? I am thinking it means "leave me alone" because he will bluff bite at me. I havent started any training just yet. (clicker on order)

I read so many mixed threads about the personalities of Alex's. Mine seems kinda independent.

How can I tell if he is bored or doesnt like his toys. What is his favorite food? Like I said I am very new to owning a bird and just dont know how to read a bird yet. Dogs no problem!

Talking, I THINK my Alex says "Step up" but he mumbles it so it is hard to tell if he is just grumbling or saying it. Do I need to get him totally comfortable in my house before trying any talk training with him, or is talking just something he will start doing after hearing people in the house talk to him?

Should his cage be covered up at night?

Should i leave food in his cage at all times? I currently have a parrot feed (mixed nuts and seeds) and some kind of parrot pellet food I think, in his cage at all times. With water of course. Do birds have any kind of eating schedule they will typically follow?

Sorry for all the questions! i just want to be a good owner!

Here is a picture of my new friend!
20151015_133542_zpsocgszoy9.jpg

Last edited:
OP
B

Beaker

Oct 16, 2015
Tennessee
Parrots
Alexandrine
Just thought of another question:

I have a hard time getting him to step off of my hand down to either the floor or the coffee table so i can play with him. Is there a trick to this?