Lorikeet or Senegal Parrot for a beginner?

ivandhro

Nov 16, 2011
Hi, I have no experience about parrots, except for a Eastern Rosella that was gave to me some times ago. I thought I could tame her, but I've been told Rosellas are not quite mild birds, so I'm going to let her move freely in an aviary.

Anyway, this experience triggered my interest for parrots and I am thinking about taking another one with whom I can interact more.

I asked a breeder in my nearby and he said he could give me a Lorikeet or a Senegal Parrot.

I'd like to have a bird that could talk, play and enjoy to stay with people, but also not too needful of attentions (I've heard about some parrots that develop a kind of morbid devotion to their owner).

Which one do you suggest me? Is one of the two more suitable to the circumstance, also for the fact I'm not experienced?

Thank you!

Rio Mom

Apr 7, 2011
Pennsylvania
Parrots
River - Green Cheek
Conure/
Pepper - Congo African Grey/

Rest in Peace Rio
Out of those two, I would say the senegal would be a better choice for you. Lorikeets have a much different diet. Now of course, I'm quite partial to green cheek conures myself. :)

mtdoramike

Supporting Member
Jan 18, 2011
Media
Mt. Dora Fl./central Fl.
Parrots
11 month old Senegal Parrot - 3 year old SI Eclectus
I agree, but if you want a smaller parrot with batter speaking abilities, I would suggest an Indian Ring Neck, or Quaker. Senegal's are great birds, but their talking ability isn't outstanding. They can usually say a few words and some of the words can even be understood. But their not known for their talking ability. Senegals are more of a clown.

beckybird

Nov 16, 2011
Media
Southern California
Parrots
Lola (green cheek conure)
Connor (yellow sided green cheek conure)
Dorian "Buzzy" (senegal)
Hi there : )