Moluccan sexing help

Peachie

Apr 5, 2014
Hello! I'm new to the forum, and relatively new to being a Moluccan owner. I have had lots of experience with parrots, just more greys and and amazons.
Anyhow! We adopted Peach about a month ago, and 'she' is such an awesome bird. When we got her she had plucked over half her feathers and was mutilating pretty badly. She doesn't pluck anymore and her wound is almost healed! Amazing what change she has gone through, she is flourishing :)
Anywho, we were told she is around 15 and was sexed as female, but the previous owner apparently wasn't truthful on many things so I'm not convinced.
She's been to a vet, but since she was supposed to be sexed they never bothered. My question is, I've read online that eye color is the way to sex without DNA, but does anyone have pictures of male/female eyes? I've done the flashlight trick to see the true color, and they are so dark brown they are almost black, and look black in normal light. Is peach actually male?

riddick07

Dec 22, 2011
PA
Parrots
Blue & Gold Macaw (Titan) & Yellow Naped Amazon (Kelly)
This site has info about sexing visually with the moluccans. It's further down the page. Okay its at the bottom of the page...

Moluccan's

RavensGryf

Supporting Member
Jan 19, 2014
College Station, Texas
Parrots
Red Bellied Parrot /
Ruppell's Parrot /
Bronze Winged Pionus /
English Budgie
I loved reading that page Victoria, thanks :) That sanctuary is a wonderful place for such beautiful birds that just aren't appropriate for the "average" parrot home.

That's great that Peach has turned around in your care! Sounds like he/she is lucky to have such a good environment :)

So, what do you think about the sex now, according to his/her beak size?

Last edited:

riddick07

Dec 22, 2011
PA
Parrots
Blue & Gold Macaw (Titan) & Yellow Naped Amazon (Kelly)
I found them awhile ago when I was looking at shelters! Nowhere near me....