My Alex demands treats when he steps up

Mrs_peters

Mar 15, 2016
Hi,

My Alex has been with me for more than a month now and he finally steps up and steps down. I read somewhere that it's good to give them treats when they step up and stay on your hand to indicate that it's good to be on the hand. He now DEMANDS for treats. If not, he bites hard on my hand. The guy who sold him to me did mention that he bites for food so I am guessing he gave in to that habit and now Alex (which is his name too) thinks that that works for treats too?

I am new to birds so I freak when he bites and I just give it to him as well! So now I'd him to stay on me for the sake of being with me and not just for the treats! How do I break this habit?

Thanks!

Ps: his bites are pretty hard!

Christinenc2000

Oct 8, 2014
North Carolina
Parrots
Big Bird _ Blue & Gold Macaw
Hi sorry you are having trouble. I do not use treats for actions. BB responds well to excitement and scratches.

Treats I save to give just because :)

I am not sure how you would break the habit . Hope someone will come along soon to help

plumsmum2005

Nov 18, 2015
England, UK
Parrots
Lou, Ruby, and Sonu.
Fly free Plum, my gorgeous boy.
Hi you are rewarding a negative by giving in and I can see why.

So if he's good he can stay if not back to his cage. If you do the step up and down's right by his cage it will involve less pain on your behalf as quicker to get him back.

Be focused and decisive when doing these exercises so he cannot take advantage. Possibly change the reward time to when you return to the cage, that being the end of exercise. So up 'good boy', down 'good boy', return to cage, treat.

Mix it up if you can so he doesnt expect a treat everytime, sometimes a fuss or head scratch instead and of course loads of 'good boy's.

Last edited:
OP
M

Mrs_peters

Mar 15, 2016