My beginnings with birds

WharfRat

Jul 3, 2012
Central Tx
Parrots
2 Bolivian Green Wings-ReaRea & Miri,
2 Yellow Naped 'Zons- Shiloh & Halo,
Hahn's Macaw-Kalani
Feeling a little introspective today and was thinking back to my first bird.....

I was very young but was always an animal lover, I had a good friend in high school that was a fanatic about wildlife so I guess he introduced me to animals other than dogs and cats. He had more snakes than I could count, he also had ferrets, an Akita (Japanese fighting dog heritage) and even an Arctic white fox (which was stolen).

I really don't remember why I bought my first bird but GAWD I loved him! He was a male cockatiel, very young....... being ignorant (and very young) I named him "Dummy". Now after typing this I remember why and where I got him.:eek:

I was about 21 at the time (about to turn 53 in 6 days) I was a pipeline surveyor in Texas, we pretty much worked 7 days a week, 10-14 hours a day and traveled constantly. I basically lived in hotels year round, but the pay at the time was astronomical for someone my age and just a high school education. Funny thing about being a surveyor back then, they didn't have a very good reputation I found out down the road. (I learned to quit putting "occupation" on the hotel registry to avoid getting turned away!). I literally worked in small towns that I actually hid my long hair under a hat to avoid trouble! :eek: