My Green Cheek Conure won't eat vegetables.

Socosmias

Oct 20, 2016
Hawaii
Parrots
Cinnamon Turquoise Green Cheek Conure - BeepBeep (born 1/13/16)
Hi, everyone!

I'm fairly new to this site/forum, and I am also a novice Green Cheek owner. I purchased my Cinnamon Turquoise Green Cheek (Beep-Beep) from Petco this year in April. Her birthday is January 13, 2016, so she's going to be coming up on a year pretty soon. She is absolutely my EVERYTHING. I've never felt such love for an animal, she literally lights up my entire world. I would give 30 years of my life so she can live a full life span.

Currently she is on a pellet diet. Petco was feeding her a seed diet, and when I took her to the vet, they had told me how detrimental is could be on her health. So I began researching, and bought ZuPreem at the time. As I dug further in about her food, I discovered that ZuPreem doesn't have all the benefits and nutrients as they advertise. So I just ordered her Harrison's Bird Food. My biggest concern is the way she eats her vegetables. I have tried pretty much every vegetable there is with her, and she has chosen broccoli and green beans. The only issue is, I noticed that she just chews on it for the water/juices in the veggie, and shakes it out of her mouth. She can be so unhealthy! She steals my human food, which contains too much salt and sugar for her little bird body. She LOVES fruits, but vegetables are a bit of a hassle for her to eat. I don't like feeding her too much nuts because I'm so scared of her getting a blood clot. I know how fattening it can be for her.

Has anyone else had trouble feeding vegetables to their Conures? What's the best way to get through to her? I sometimes pretend that I'm eating the vegetables, and it'll work for a few minutes, until she figures out what it is. I am just too paranoid about her health. I can't even leave her alone at home. I even take her to college with me, lol.

Thank you so much!
Sophie & Beep-Beep:rainbow1:

Attachments