My New Baby Meyers!!!

HollyG

Aug 4, 2013
Hey guys! So I am new to Meyer's Parrots but not to owning birds in general! I currently have a female Lutino Cockatiel and a Male Canary. I have had birds since I was a kid. I will be picking up my new baby Meyer's on the 10th, I am so excited! I've read and heard so much about these birds and even interacted with a Brown Headed Parrot last week. My little Meyers is a little over 8 weeks. He may not be completely 100% fully weaned by the time I get him, but that's alright, I use to hand raise cockatiels and other baby birds all the time... the breeder knows me well now and is more than comfortable letting me finish his weaning.
Here's a picture of my little baby and his parents, who are absolutely beautiful Meyers!! My baby's name is Avem, is a little over 8 weeks old, is about 7" already and is about 140 grams (baby weight still there hehe). Mom weighs in at 135 grams and dad maxes out at around 150 grams!! I think Avem will be a big beautiful boy once he hits a couple years old!!
View attachment 8025
View attachment 8024

Last edited:

Mayden

Apr 22, 2010
UK.
Parrots
Merlin & Charlie (Senegals)
Wow, what a beautiful birdy! Congratulations on your soon to be new fid! I love Meyers parrots, they're just great little birdies. Very jealous!

Good luck, keep us updated! (With pics! :D)

OP
H

HollyG

Aug 4, 2013
Thanks guys! will definitely keep you guys updated... yes with pics ;)

Shade

Sep 27, 2011
Canada
Parrots
Piper - Peachface Lovebird;
Shade - Senegal Parrot;
Joey & Pixel - Red-bellied Parrots;
Petey & Zuri - Meyer's Parrots;
Léa - Cape Parrot
Congrats and welcome! :)

OP
H

HollyG

Aug 4, 2013
Update picture! He is such a big boy! 8 1/2 week's old and look how big he is compared to the breeders hand! I'm so excited to get him home Saturday!
View attachment 8032

Last edited:

Mayden

Apr 22, 2010
UK.
Parrots
Merlin & Charlie (Senegals)