My situation

Emil

Jan 25, 2018
Okey, I want to describe my situation. Right now I am an exchange student in America, from Germany. Many of you told me I should volunteer somewhere, to see if birds are the right pets for me. Here in my American host family I have 2 budgies which are about 6 years old and shy. Nobody tried to tame them. Now I get the opportunity to see how it is with a bird and how to care for a bird.

itzjbean

Jan 27, 2017
Media
Iowa, USA
Parrots
2 cockatiels
Hello Emil and welcome!

You sure are a ways from home! What a great opportunity you have in front of you. There are lots of ways to go about earning a bird's trust and taming it. It will take patience and lots of time. How long are you staying in the US? If you're committed and are staying here for a while (a few months?), I don't see why you couldn't tame these budgies in your host family.

You can use positive reinforcement to train the budgies. All that means is, rewarding them when they do something you want them to do. As in, offering a treat on the side of the cage and waiting for them to approach and take it from you. The idea is to show them that good things happen when you are around.

Be sure to check out the different sub-forums here, there's tons of information here and many experienced parrot lovers from all around the world.

OP
E

Emil

Jan 25, 2018
Hello Emil and welcome!

You sure are a ways from home! What a great opportunity you have in front of you. There are lots of ways to go about earning a bird's trust and taming it. It will take patience and lots of time. How long are you staying in the US? If you're committed and are staying here for a while (a few months?), I don't see why you couldn't tame these budgies in your host family.