Nanday conure humping? Maybe?

pixelandmort

Nov 16, 2015
Pennsylvania
Parrots
Nanday Conure
My Nanday Mort has started rubbing her bum on everything (humping, I guess). Her toys, perches, food bowl... Everything. Is this something I should stop, or be concerned with? I usually try to distract her, but she has started doing it more and more. Any advice is helpful, I'm a newbie! :green2:

GaleriaGila

Parrot of the Month 🏆
May 14, 2016
Cleveland area
Parrots
The Rickeybird, 38-year-old Patagonian Conure
My two cents... yeah, sounds like hormones!!!

Ever since the Rickeybird hit sexual maturity at about 3-4 years of age, I've had to manage his hormones! If kept on too steady a long day, and too much light, he stayed "in the mood" (aggressive, even louder than usual, pleasuring himself on my neck ) year round. If I keep him on a natural light schedule... up with dawn, down with dusk, year around... THEN he's only a little monster rooster from July to September). He has his own room, so I can do that easily.

Most people think that petting a bird on its back is also stimulating...

tlfisher

Apr 28, 2013
Iowa
Parrots
Cockatiel (daughter's bird)
Rare Parakeet(daughter's bird)
My gcc is always trying to put his but in or near my face. Hormonal?

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk

snowflake311

Jun 7, 2016
Tahoe
Parrots
Sprinkels, Black capped Conure/
Olaf, male, Budgie/
Sweetpea, female, Budgie/
RIP Kiwi, female, Senegal
Oh yeah horny bird. Mine will grab my hair and hump my head. He is not allowed on heads. I also try and redirect him to other stuff. Like something to chew on or eat. A bath helps cool him off too.

I need to try the light thing that sounds like the best way to deal with it.

OP
P

pixelandmort

Nov 16, 2015
Pennsylvania
Parrots
Nanday Conure
My two cents... yeah, sounds like hormones!!!