Need info on mating behavior for GCC

ATidbit

Aug 26, 2014
Chandler, AZ
Parrots
Yellow Sided Green Cheek Conure
I have a GCC that is just under 2. I'm trying to find info on what their mating behavior is so I can recognize it when I see it. We've seen a couple of new behaviors recently and wonder what they are about. This is also my first bird, so I'm still learning what to discourage or allow.

He's done this bobbing thing recently. Not the parrot up and down bob, that's his begging/excited sign. But this is a very fast forward and back of his head. The first time I saw this, I thought there was something wrong. My daughter says with her he keeps fluffing himself up and wagging his tail. I don't believe he is rubbing himself on her. I did see that mentioned a few times as birdy masterbating :)

He spends most of his time with me even though he was supposed to be my husbands bird. I'm a stay at home mom, so we are just around each other a lot. At night, he likes to cuddle up under my hair and lean or lightly rub on my neck. He only does it for a second or two. Sometimes he sits under my hair for a minute or so without cuddling.

I also read that petting him on his back or under his wings is maybe not a good idea. I had been trying to get him used to being touched. He was hand fed as a chick so very friendly and liked people, but he didn't really like his wings, under his wings, or his tail touched. He would occasionally get kinda mean if you did. I didn't want this behavior, so I made a point to run a finger under his wings, over his wings, down his back every couple of days or so until he got used to it. Now he likes it when I give him a quick pet under a wing. Usually he just raises his wing for a second and then rubs his face on my hand afterwards. Again, he has never tried to "mount" me after petting his wings.