New Alex Owner

kezzaj

Feb 3, 2014
Brisbane
Parrots
BoB my Alexandrine.
Hi everyone,
I'm new to the Alex world and I was wondering if I can pick your brains about a couple of things.

Our mate Bob is about 16 weeks old, we've only had him for 5 day so still learning his quirks. I've been doing so much reading my head is starting to spin..lol.. We are taking things slow so he can learn to trust us.

How much should I be feeding him? I give him fresh fruit and veggies, cereal and grain products and his seed but how much should I be giving him throughout the day? I don't want to under or over feed him :confused:

Also, when he is sitting on our chest, he will make a little grumble/arrghh/growly sound (haha, I'm sure THAT helps :p ) does that mean he's happy? Or is he grumpy with something we are doing? I don't see his eyes pining and his feathers are all ruffled so no telltale I'm angry signs but he does it when we move our hands so not sure which it means.

And lastly (for now..hehehe) how did you introduce your parrot to water? Did you use a squirt bottle on a fine mist?

Thanks for the help, it's muchly appreciated :green2:

Kez :)

Attachments

• Bob's.jpg
    Bob's.jpg
    46.4 KB · Views: 252

Betrisher

Jun 3, 2013
Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Parrots
Dominic: Galah(RIP: 1981-2018); The Lovies: Four Blue Masked Lovebirds; Barney and Madge (The Beaks): Alexandrines; Miss Rosetta Stone: Little Corella
No one's ever told me how much to feed my birds, so I keep pellets available to them at all times. I doubt you can over feed a young bird as they're still growing. My Beaks usually feed first thing in the morning, then have a light pick at their food around midday and then another larger feed around five in the afternoon. Sometimes I see them picking around after dark, but not often.